Summary of July 20, 2022 Board Meeting

The Board of Director’s Meeting was held on Wednesday, July 20. On the final day of the month our club had 217 Active Members, plus eleven Inactive Emeriti. Attendance for the month’s four meetings was 29% (equal to last month). Average attendance at each meeting was 70 members and 8 guests. Average in person attendance was 31 and average Zoom attendance was 50. Our Engagement Ratio for the month was 48%. Discussion for the board included the drastic reduction of membership coinciding with renewal of dues. For the month of June, we ended with five new members and 31 terminations/resignations.


It was announced that the Michigan Union has increased prices on AV Techs and piano rentals. We have canceled the Opera Room, and the buffet will be moving to inside the Anderson Room as a cost-cutting measure.


There will be nine Zoom-only meetings in the coming Rotary year to save on costs. The following 2022-2023 Calendar is being proposed:

  • September 14, 2022 – GTO Golf Outing & Fundraiser (no weekly meeting)
  • October 19, 2022 – Zoom-only
  • November 16, 2022 – Zoom-only
  • November 23, 2022 – NO meeting for Thanksgiving Holiday
  • December 21, 2022 – Zoom-only
  • December 28, 2022 – NO meeting for Christmas Holiday
  • January 18, 2023 – Zoom-only
  • February 15, 2023 – Zoom-only
  • March 15, 2023 – Zoom-only
  • April 19, 2023 – Zoom-only
  • May 17, 2023 – Zoom-only
  • July 5, 2023 – NO meeting for 4th of July Holiday
  • July 19, 2023 – NO meeting for Art Fair


Discussion occurred about whether to create a Rotary email list for exchanging of ideas, thoughts, etc. Dan Romanchik is willing to champion this and will be asked to create administrator rules and serve as the admin. A motion was made and approved to move forward with Dan’s proposal to create an email list that would serve as a discussion group among RCAA club members.


The nominating committee met this week to start the process for developing the next slate of nominees. The slate will be ready for Board approval on their October 19th Board meeting.  The nominating committee this year consists of Susan Froelich, Chair; Mark Foster, Ebru Misirli Mansfield, Mark Ouimet and Ingrid Sheldon.